Connect with us
Home Yoga Teacher Training Article Essentials of Energetic Anatomy and Physiology in Yoga

Essentials of Energetic Anatomy and Physiology in Yoga

Ancient sages of India have systematically approached Hatha Yoga practice as the pathway of self transformation and it is having the base of the concept of subtle energy. The evolution of the human consciousness takes place through the various mechanisms of workings in the structure of the subtle body. Energetic anatomy and physiology in yoga is a study of the understanding of the concepts from the traditional perspectives on the scientific basis with an integration of the effects of the practical Curriculum of Hatha Yoga sadhana.

For a yoga teacher and practitioner, it is of great importance to know these essentials of energetic anatomy and physiology in yoga from the point view of the holistic health and therapeutics of yoga practices. Understanding of the organization of the human body and its functioning in the subtle system is used for the establishment of the homeostatic mechanisms which are contributing for the physical and mental health. Various principles and techniques in Yoga Teacher Training and practice will be helpful to enhance this ancient wisdom for the applications in healthcare system with holistic approach on the platform of traditional foundations. This distinction with respect to modern anatomy and physiology in yoga can contribute a lot for the huge potentialities of science of Yoga as therapy and means for the health and wellness. An outline of the studies include the following;
Yoga Chkras
Pancha Kosha
Taittiriya Upanishad provides the yogic view of the personality in the form of Panchakoshas or five sheaths which mainly deal with our experiences from gross to subtle. This is one of the most important theories which form the basis of the yoga therapy applications. For a productive person it is important have the willpower, power of action and the power of knowledge, The meticulous observation of the sheaths reveal the connection of our energy expression in each dimensions of our personality such as physical, vital, mental emotional and intellectual and blissful levels in the fowling sheaths respectively.
1. Annamaya Kosha - Physical body formed out of food composition.
2. Pranamaya Kosha - Vital body formed out of five life forces and five motor organs.
3. Manomaya Kosha - Mental sheath formed out of mind and five sense organs.
4. Vijnanamaya Kosha - The sheath of wisdom having the composition of the intellect.
5. Anandamaya Kosha - The blissful sheath being the core of happiness.
Spiritual energy concept is discussed in Kundalini Yoga in the form of chakras which are called as shatchakras. Physiology of each of the chakras has significant correspondence with respect to our behavior, emotions, mind including the physiological experiences of our body .Each chakra in their location govern the functions of different organs. Our personality aspects are revealed with the help of the knowledge of each chakra using the wisdom of classical curriculum of Hatha yoga principles and practices. The progressive awakening of the dormant energy from the base to the top in the following list of chakras is known as Kundalini Yoga.
1. Muladhara
2. Svadhishthana
3. Manipura
4. Anahata
5. Vishuddhi
5. Ajna
Also called the "crown chakra" or the "thousand petaled" chakra symbolizes the state of pure consciousness. The pranic flow through the energy channels activates all these energy centers.
Prashnopansihad explains the locations, names and importance of five types prana known as Pancahpranas. Swarayoga, the science of breath which is connected with our life force. The breath has strong influence on our mind .Balancing the pranic flow is the important area for the harmony of the mind and body. Imbalance in the rhythm of the flow of prana in any part of our body can affect the working conditions of our physiology. The practice of pranayama and other techniques in yoga are effective to balance the energy for maintaining the good health through these pancha pranas
1. Prana - Located at chest responsible for cardio respiratory systems.
2. Apana - Below the navel and perineum responsible for uro- genital systems.
3. Vyana - Pervading throughout the body and functions as backup force.
4. Udan - Located in the region of head and above contributes for integrating of psychosomatic responses.
5. Samana - Situated in the navel region known for the absorption and assimilation of the nutrients in the body.
Shiva Swarodaya and Tantra Raja explain about the importance of the five elements. The interaction of the matter and consciousness is major doctrine of Indian philosophy which has the fundamental role in the form of the elements as they permeate entire body and mind. They are also the basis of the various physio -chemical process in the Ayurveda studies. Permutations and combinations of the elements have definite role on the behavior and personality. Hence, it is important to understand the characteristics of the each of these elements to apply the suitable yoga practices for the achieving the harmony or homeostasis. The five elements are;
1. Ether /Space
2. Air
3. Fire
4. Water
5. Earth
Gunas are the primordial qualities of the nature which is experienced both in the macrocosm and microcosm. Essentially, every individual nature is being dominated by the predominance of these qualities. Bhagavad-Gita in its 14th chapter provides the overview of the guna and their influence on our mind and body. The sharpness, intellect, peace of mind .emotions and the behavior of a person are influenced during the domination of the particular quality. Yoga practices are very good to develop the inner harmony which is conducible to peace of mind. The Trigunas are;
1. Satwa
2. Rajas
3. Tamas
The concept of Tridosha is very fundamental aspect of ayurveda. The panch prana and pancha bhuta during their interactions provide the experience of different deviations in the body which are basically called as Doshas If they are in balance it is state of health and their imbalance is called as disease. Modules of Ayurveda and Yoga Trainings are helpful in the establishment of the balance among these doshas for the holistic health. The Tridoshas are;
1. Vata
2. Pitta
3. Kapha
Nadis are the energy channels in the framework of the human body. The free flow of the pranic energy takes place through these channels. Blockages in theses energy path ways leads to imbalance resulting to disease. The Hatha yogic practices such as cleansing techniques and pranayama are very good to clean them and bring the best possible health to the yoga practitioners. There are 72000 nadis and the three important nadis are;
1. Ida
2. Pingala
3. Shushumna
The applications of the above principles are helpful to provide a special opportunity for the yoga teachers for the integration of this wisdom in their teaching and practice of yoga to bring the balance in the subtle energy.

Latest Blog

The mention of "Chitta Prasadanam" which literally means Calm mind is in the patanjali Yoga Sutra 1.33...
Pregnancy is a wondrous moment in a woman's life. The happiness of bringing a bundle of joy in world...
First one should know that Yoga is not only physical exercise and breathing routine. It is much more ...